| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Get rid of scams
Joined: 23 Feb 2011 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 6:27 am Post subject: Andrew MUST GO DOWN NOW! and the others |
|
|
I just got an sms from an ad I posted on Junkmail! (from this Andrew and the same number.
I haven't replied to him as yet.
Tips? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
tansyn@vodamail.co.za
Joined: 03 Mar 2011 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi
These guys are contacting me NOW wanting to buy a motorbike i am selling. I got the genitic e-mail as shown below. If you wanna try catch them or wanna contact me my e-mail is tanynn@amo1174.com.
I hope these ba$terd$ get caught!![/b] |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Bhana7
Joined: 16 Mar 2011 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 10:48 pm Post subject: Re: If you are selling a car |
|
|
I received the exact same message from this Erik Vannik guy in regard to a quad bike I am selling, I agreed on the sale and a couple of days later I found an email in my spam box from 'PAYPAL; stating that the payment was made, obviously I didnt do a deposit at the Western Union branch and rather reported him to PAYPAL, the guy has become very impatient with me and is insisting that he made the payment to my paypal account, some quick thinking saved me about R4200 from being lost.
| MadaboutJack wrote: |
If you are selling a car this is the response you will get from the scammers,
This is the response from Eric Vannik, using email address, johu79@live.com
Thanks for your response,i am glad you want to sell this to me as requested.I am actually away on an official assignment presently i am a marine engineer and i am on sea right now presently working in southern wales . i have lived and worked in south Africa before in the early 90's and i prefer to trade there i would have buy the automobile here but due to high tax and vat and i will be making use of my shipping company to inspect and have the automobile picked up from you.Further arrangements will be made with you in regards to the pick up once i have paid you. Do you mind if i add my shippers fee to your payment and when you get my payment,you can help me transfer their charges to them via western union since i do not have access to a Western Union Outlet here at the moment. And more so i will offering you total of R67000 and which the shipping cost will be R6200 and R800 will be for all the necessary charges from western union and paypal was inclusive. So i will like if you can give much update on the automobile the condition of the engine presently,are you the rightful owner?and if you can send me more pictures of the automobile i will appreciate it. As i have told you the only means of payment i have here is by PayPal, because that was they use to pay my salary it is very safe and reliable because i use it to purchase my Flight ticket and hotel accommodation to south Africa last year to watch the world cup final so you can create an account www.paypal.co.za and once it is activated you can send to it me with your paypal email address so that Payment can be sent promptly that is the only means of payment i have here on board
________________________________________
To: johu79@live.com |
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
dude@thedude.co.za
Joined: 24 Mar 2011 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:58 pm Post subject: WAYNE MACKENZIE - SKAM / CON MAN - CATCH THIS GUY 079 579879 |
|
|
This GUY is a con man - BEWARE
WAYNE MACKENZIE
WAYNE MACKENZIECC@yahoo.com & aeg6000@gmail.com
his cell number is +27 79 5798791 - 079 5798791
He tried to con/skam me out of some furniture. He Sent me a fake NEDBANK sms for payment conformation. Then tried to offer me a bank guaranteed check.
I told him no money no goods - he then put the phone down. Waisted 2 days of my selling time.
He Called and seemed very keen to buy - everything I was offering.
He said he was out of town and would send a truck to pick up the goods.
If anyone wants to join up to catch this guy - Im in - Break his knees, cut off his thumbs and fingers - Italian style - Police will do nothing as usual. He can then run his scams from a wheelchair using voice command on his cellphone - ---- him.
BEWARE AND WATCH OUT.
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ZFZ000GP
Joined: 08 Apr 2011 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 1:03 am Post subject: Re: Leigh Eaton |
|
|
| I have been conned by this Andrew Kalala He sent me a copy of his ID and The proof of payment. and i believed this guy |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
collex
Joined: 09 Feb 2011 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:18 am Post subject: wayne mackenzie.... |
|
|
Hi, he tried his luck with me in February. Same cell number.
He gave address as 77 broadway street, Bez valley. Doubt it exists. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
paulbanton
Joined: 28 Jul 2011 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 1:55 am Post subject: Wayne MacKenzie |
|
|
Wayne MacKenzie also contacted me today ... He was buying a camera from me...
Only saw this post afterwards, as things seemed fishy, as he was really trying to rush the process..so I did a search
Cellphone No Used: 073 701 3111
He also provided 77 Broadway, Kensington as a delivery address... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Vin.Rain
Joined: 15 Feb 2012 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 11:01 pm Post subject: Nedbank Payment Scam |
|
|
| Same story as above, advertised my goods and got a call within minutes from "GARRY PALLE" - 071 820 1360/ . No negotiating or enquiries about the goods, just asked for my details and a few minutes later got a "Nedbank Proof of Payment SMS" from +27 82007076000000. Also, got an email from the (in)famous "WAYNE MACKENZIE" - waynemackenziecc@gmail.com, with a further "Nedbank Proof of Payment" attached. These guys have obviously been operating for a while, why are they still out there and not behind bars!? Will post this same reply in the other related posts and try to raise some report ticket with Gumtree. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
brad.gerber@gmail.com
Joined: 27 Feb 2012 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:04 pm Post subject: !!! |
|
|
| I see this feed is quite old but I think i am dealing with the same person now. Name is Kelly Hyper, Email is hyperkelly82@yahoo.com. Address is Houghton Mansion, wants urgent delivery. Cell is 083 684 0273 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
brice1986
Joined: 03 Apr 2012 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:36 am Post subject: Re: !!! |
|
|
Phillip Cooper
0738456911
cooperphillip49@yahoo.co.za
Wants to buy Nintendo Wii console site unseen.
Nedbank account, Houghton address.
Still waiting on POP and actual address.
Thanks to this forum I will not be sending any goods until a legit deal is made with an honest buyer. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Blake1 Site Admin
Joined: 22 Nov 2009 Posts: 1259
|
Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello everyone,
Thanks for the messages and your concern in the safety of our Gumtree users. As always, we are very concerned when we hear reports such as this and we take these matters very seriously.
We have several dedicated Help articles in our “Safety Tips” section of the site to help inform and educate users on how to stay safe while using Gumtree. You can see some of these help articles with the following links;
http://info.gumtree.co.za/help/knowledgebase.php?article=26
http://info.gumtree.co.za/help/knowledgebase.php?article=165
http://info.gumtree.co.za/help/knowledgebase.php?category=7
Gumtree also works closely with law enforcement agencies to provide all the information needed to reports raised, however we would rather like our community to follow these 3 safety tips while interacting on Gumtree so the pain of being conned by a scammer can be avoided all together;
1. Always meet in-person - take someone with you and meet in a public place
2. Never send or wire money (especially Western Union or Moneygram) to someone you do not know or trust
3. Use common sense. If something sounds too good to be true – it probably is
Gumtree is just like a local newspaper or community board, except that we’re online. We simply connect buyers and sellers and are not directly involved in the transactions. Gumtree is designed for local, face-to-face, cash based transactions only.
We always advise our users to contact us directly to report any fraudulent ads or users by reaching out to our customer support team directly using the following link - https://help.gumtree.com.au/
If you feel you have been defrauded, please contact your local police department so that they can take any necessary steps.
Once again, thanks for helping to bring this to our attention.
Blake1,
The Gumtree Team |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
rob.legend@gmail.com
Joined: 28 Feb 2012 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 7:36 pm Post subject: i think the same guy wants to meet me tonight |
|
|
i am selling my pc. he said he will pay EFT and that i must deliver the goods to 2 houghton mansion cnr bond and louis botha houghton! so i googled it, and found this post. he is refusing to give me his name and email address, his phone number is 073-845-6911. he wants to meet me at the above address at 7pm. from what i have read i am not going! thanks for posting this page! if anyone wants catch this dude go meet him at the said address at 7pm tonight! i wont let him know i am not interested any more until tomorrow morning. if the police are still going after him this might be there chance.
email me if you want more info or a testimonial rob.legend@gmail.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
Copyright © 2005-2008 Kijiji International Limited.