Profile   Search   FAQ   Log in to check your private messages 

Another Job Scam - linked to 086 number!  

Post new topic   Reply to topic    SA Discussion Board Forum Index -> Jobs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Wink456#




Joined: 11 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:57 pm    Post subject: Another Job Scam - linked to 086 number! Reply with quote

Twisted Evil I didn't reply to a job advert on Gumtree to this specific 'agency' but have seen a number of others with very similar wording. This came directly to my email - I have never applied to this company at all. This is the same old scam - send CV, ID and all your documents !!!! fax to this number 086 ******** DON'T DO IT - they will steal your whole identity - Shocked keep your eyes open and be sure to only send your CV to reputable recruitment company's
Good LUCK
Back to top
Blake1
Site Admin



Joined: 22 Nov 2009
Posts: 1259

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Wink456,

Thank you for alerting us to this problem.

We always advise our users to be careful when dealing with prospective buyers (and sellers). Please conduct all Gumtree transactions face to face in person using cash only. Remember Gumtree should be used for local, face-to-face buying and selling.

If you have not already, please submit a ticket to support with the following link and provide them with as much information as possible;

http://info.gumtree.co.za/help/index.php?a=add

If you haven't seen it already you might want to take a look at our Safety Tips information under Help:

Safety Tips - http://help.kijiji.net/za/knowledgebase.php?article=26

You may also want to look at SCAMwatch, an Australian government site, it has the latest on internet scams:

http://www.scamwatch.gov.au/content/index.phtml/tag/InternetScams


Once again, thank you for letting us know about this problem. I hope that your future experiences with Gumtree are much more positive.

Thanks,
Blake, The Gumtree Team
Back to top
Stayalert




Joined: 03 May 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2011 11:37 pm    Post subject: 086 job scam Reply with quote

I'm not sure if they would steal your info, but I for certain know that when you have to apply for a job only by fax with a 086 number, that it is just a fake job and that they in fact receive money for every fax they receive - part of the money that you had to pay sending this fax.
Back to top
bomyy




Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you all. I always had been carefull to never respond to most agancy adverts, especially the ons that need my ID and a lot of other stuff. I do not think it is ever wise to give away such information to people you do not even know. Corruption is real
Back to top
Wounded bufalo




Joined: 11 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fax 2 e-mail numbers in widespread use, also very popular. Like all things there is allways a very small minority commiting fraud and ID theft, even via sms, e-mail, direct phone calls, etc.
Don't judge everyone using new technology!!
Back to top
Rufusssss




Joined: 01 Sep 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 11:10 pm    Post subject: Most job ads with 086 number as ONLY contact, ARE SCAMS! Reply with quote

Wounded bufalo wrote:
Fax 2 e-mail numbers in widespread use, also very popular. Like all things there is allways a very small minority commiting fraud and ID theft, even via sms, e-mail, direct phone calls, etc.
Don't judge everyone using new technology!!


@ Wounded bufalo
You obviously have no idea that most job seekers had been scammed and conned out of their money (which they don't have to begin with) by fake recruiters and fake posters who list jobs every day and in every single free job platform in every single location!! They don't protest against the use of new technology (Fax to e-mail), but people using this to earn themselves a cosy income, by wasting innocent job seekers' money. This type of scam has been around for years and this specific person (or maybe a syndicate) MO never changed. They create a bunch of free e-mail addresses such as inspiredpersonnel@thepub.co.za; moremail@therugby.co.za; Supreme Appointments with a gmail address; South Coast Appointments, Oceanic Appointments, Careerwork Wizard; Jobprogress Solutions, SA Employment Services, Universe Appointments - to mention just a few. My inbox lately is inundated with e-mails from: MEGAHuman Resouces; Careerwork Wizard and a lot of others. The strangest thing is, I never responded to any of their Ads, yet they keep on sending me this crap! Google job scams and you will see all the complaints and warnings in this regard.

When a poster lists an existing, legit ad, he/she won't have trouble mentioning his company or recruitment agency with a contact number or website. In this case having an 086 fax number is not a problem, however, there is no difference between e-mailing your docs and faxing it to the 086 number, because both are sent to the poster's Inbox. There is a high difference in costs though, because faxing to an 086 number is higher than e-mailing or landline fax.

The easiest scam possible - to list fake job ads, or simply bombard people's inboxes with e-mails from fake recruiters, asking job seekers to forward their documents and certificates to their 086-FAX NUMBER!

The more faxes people send to one of their numerous 086 fax numbers, the more money this person makes, because a % of the total costs goes to his own pocket.

He has all the time in the world to create more and more free e-mail addresses and keep on changing the names infront to lure job seekers to respond! He obviously earns enough by this scam practice, and thus doesn't bother to have a real job. This is dispicable to say the least. May this person, one day, gets what he deserves - TO BE CAUGHT and brought to justice.
Back to top
ibestafrica




Joined: 30 Oct 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 8:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Most job ads with 086 number as ONLY contact, ARE SCAMS! Reply with quote

Rufusssss wrote:
You obviously have no idea that most job seekers had been scammed and conned out of their money (which they don't have to begin with) by fake recruiters and fake posters who list jobs every day and in every single free job platform in every single location!!

This is a bit of a problem then. Our company only use 086 fax to email solutions for recruitment purposes simply because traditional fax is impractical for the number of responses we get. The solution therefore has nothing to do with the 086 number but rather with how job responses are being handled by the Gumtree system. We require only short CV's (max 2pages) but because applicants seems to miss this little detail we get inundated with faxes to our traditional fax line which prints all faxes at great cost to the company. Stating ALL these jobs are scams is shallow and judgmental. Rather make people aware of these scumbags, but you cannot expect employers to not use sensible technology.
Back to top
andrealta




Joined: 25 Nov 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well Hoora, happy to see I'm not the only one to be such a fool. You can also post complaints like crazy and nothing helps. Not even the bank where you deposited the money will help to even tell you whether the account is still functional never mind to try and stop deposits into these accounts. How do we stop these scams!!!! Or try to?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SA Discussion Board Forum Index -> Jobs All times are GMT-12.0
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Memberlist   Usergroups




Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group